The memorandum of understanding on cooperation for the development and enhancement of energy sustainability in the Adriatic area, with a particular attention to the opportunities raised by the European programming 2014-2020,  was signed in Bari by 18 organizations including regional governments, ministries and state energy agencies of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy (Puglia, Abruzzo, Emilia Romagna, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Marche, Molise, Veneto), Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.

This agreement is the natural outcome of an intense institutional, technical and administrative activity carried out over the last 5 years (2011 – 2016), as part of the ALTERENERGY Strategic Project (Energy Sustainability for Adriatic Small Communities) and CBC Programme IPA Adriatic 2007-2013.

The virtuous process ALTERENERGY includes today the generation of tangible investments, in particular 2 pilot interventions on infrastructure in Puglia and Albania and 6 demonstrative actions in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia and Greece, in addition to an intervention of sustainable mobility carried out in Slovenia. Further measures targeted at enterprises have involved 108 SMEs from the whole area, with the aim of promoting and supporting the internationalization processes of enterprises in the Adriatic market.

Overall, however, thanks to the financial resources used (c.a. 12.5 million Euros), ALTERENERGY can also rely on a series of intangible initiatives, yet concrete in terms of a positive impact at a cultural, social, tourist, educational, commercial and technological level: exchange of good practices, knowledge transfer, territorial animation, awareness campaigns,  local economic development and much more, in line with the ‘’EU 2020 Climate and Energy package’’ targets.


Puglia Region – Territorial Cooperation Unit

Via P. Gobetti, 26 – 70125 Bari – ITALY

Phone: +39.080.540.6545 – Fax +39.080.540.9268